Dicroceliosis in cattle

09.03.2024
328

Cattle dicroceliosis  is a parasitic disease common in the steppe, forest-steppe and semi-desert regions of the Russian Federation. The peak occurs in the spring-summer period, and infection occurs mainly during open grazing. With significant infestations and lack of timely treatment, death is possible. The disease is also dangerous for other farm animals (dicroceliosis of ruminants is isolated) and humans.

Cause

The disease is a consequence of infection with trematodes  Dicrocoelium lanceatum,  reaching a length of 1.2 cm. The carriers of their eggs are ants and mollusks (most often snails) that live in pastures. Wild animals can also be carriers and distributors. The eggs are released into the external environment along with secretions. Cows swallow them with grass.

In the body, dicrocoelia are localized in the liver. Over the course of 1.5-3 months, they go through several stages of development, lay eggs in the bile ducts, and then colonize the intestines.

Symptoms of dicroceliosis in cattle

With minor infestations, the disease is chronic and can remain asymptomatic for years. Signs of its transition to the acute stage appear as the degree of infection increases and with weakened immunity of animals. Adults are most often affected.

There are no characteristic symptoms. Manifestations of the acute form are similar to those of other helminth infestations. As a rule, the development of the disease occurs gradually with an increase in symptoms:

  • individuals lose weight, young animals gain IT poorly;

  • the functioning of the gastrointestinal tract is disrupted - diarrhea alternates with constipation;

  • mucous membranes acquire a yellowish tint;

  • anemia is observed;

  • swelling occurs on the chest and peritoneum;

  • cows' Milk yield decreases;

  • the wool is brittle, dull;

  • Often individuals fall into coma.

 

Diagnostics

To determine the type of pathogen, intestinal secretions are analyzed using the method of successive washings. A pathological examination reveals:

 

  • enlarged liver,

  • dilated and inflamed bile ducts;

  • areas of necrosis with a large number of trematodes;

  • accumulation of parasites in the gallbladder.

Treatment of dicroceliosis in cattle

Etiotropic therapy is carried out by deworming. For these purposes, the NITA-FARM company has developed a new generation drug “Rikazol” with 100% bioavailability. It is based on the active ingredient ricobendazole, an active metabolite of albendazole, which has shown 90% effectiveness. Acts against sexually mature trematodes.

The drug is available in the form of an injection solution, ready for use. Its advantage is its wide spectrum of action, so it can be used for the treatment and prevention of most common helminth infestations by trematodes, nematodes, and cestodes. At the same time, ricobendazole has a minimal toxic effect on the animal body , has no side effects and does not cause a local reaction.

Treatment consists of one injection of the drug "Rikazol" intramuscularly. For chronic disease, the dose is 1 ml/12.5 kg of weight. It is also suitable for sheep and goats, making its use economical. The active substance reaches its maximum concentration in the blood 8 hours after injection. Cow's milk can be used after 5 days, Meat - after 30 days.

Prevention

Deworming of livestock with the drug "Rikazol" should be carried out twice a year - in the spring before moving cattle to pasture and in the fall - before placing them in a stall. Compliance with this requirement , as well as grazing animals on cultivated, treated pastures, will eliminate the risk of invasions.

Read together with it:

Дикроцелиоз у КРС

09.03.2024
364
Дикроцелиоз у КРС
Фото носит иллюстративный характер. Из открытых источников.

Дикроцелиоз КРС - паразитарная болезнь, распространенная в степных, лесостепных и полупустынных регионах РФ. Пик приходится на весенне-летний период, а заражение происходит, в основном, во время открытого выпаса. При значительных инвазиях и отсутствии своевременного лечения возможен летальный исход. Заболевание опасно также для других сельскохозяйственных животных (выделяют дикроцелиоз жвачных) и человека.

Причина

Болезнь становится следствием заражения трематодами Dicrocoelium lanceatum, достигающими в длину 1,2 см. Переносчиками их яиц выступают муравьи и моллюски (чаще всего улитки), обитающие на пастбищах. Носителями и распространителями могут быть и дикие животные. Яйца попадают во внешнюю среду вместе с выделениями. Коровы заглатывают их с травой.

В организме дикроцелии локализуются в печени. В течение 1,5-3 месяцев они проходят несколько стадий развития, откладывают яйца в желчных протоках, а затем заселяют кишечник.

Симптомы дикроцелиоза КРС

При незначительных инвазиях болезнь имеет хронический характер и годами может проходить бессимптомно. Признаки ее перехода в острую стадию проявляются по мере повышения степени заражения и при ослабленном иммунитете животных. Чаще всего болеют взрослые особи.

Характерной симптоматики не существует. Проявления острой формы схожи с признаками других гельминтных инвазий. Как правило, развитие болезни проходит постепенно с наращиванием симптомов:

  • особи теряют вес, молодняк плохо его набирает;

  • нарушается работа ЖКТ — поносы чередуются с запорами;

  • слизистые приобретают желтоватый оттенок;

  • наблюдается малокровие;

  • на груди и брюшине возникают отеки;

  • у коров снижаются удои;

  • шерсть ломкая, тусклая;

  • нередко особи впадают в коматоз.

 

Диагностика

Для определения вида возбудителя анализируют выделения из кишечника методом последовательных смывов. При патологоанатомическом исследовании обнаруживается:

 

  • увеличенная печень,

  • расширенные и воспаленные желчные ходы;

  • участки некроза с большим количеством трематод;

  • скопление паразитов в желчном пузыре.

Лечение дикроцелиоза КРС

Этиотропную терапию проводят путем дегельминтизации. Для этих целей компания NITA-FARM разработала препарат нового поколения «Риказол» со 100% биодоступностью. В его основе действующее вещество рикобендазол — активный метаболит альбендазола, показавший 90% эффективности. Действует против половозрелых трематод.

Препарат выпускается в форме раствора для инъекций, готового к применению. Его преимущество в широком спектре действия, поэтому его можно использовать для лечения и профилактики большинства распространенных гельминтных инвазий трематодами, нематодами, цестодами. При этом рикобендазол оказывает минимальное токсическое действие на организм животных, не имеет побочных эффектов и не вызывает местной реакции.

Лечение состоит в одной инъекции препарата «Риказол» внутримышечно. При хроническом течении заболевания доза — 1 мл/12,5 кг массы. Он подходит также овцам и козам, что делает его применение экономически выгодным. Максимальной концентрации в крови действующее вещество достигает спустя 8 часов после инъекции. Молоко коров можно использовать спустя 5 суток, мясо — спустя 30 суток.

Профилактика

Дегельминтизацию поголовья препаратом «Риказол» следует проводить дважды в год — весной перед выгоном скота на пастбище и осенью — перед постановкой в стойло. Соблюдение этого требования, а также выпас животных на окультуренных, обработанных пастбищах, избавит от риска инвазий.

Вместе с этим читают: